The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

August!

on August 4, 2011
autumn leaf

Image by ientu via Flickr

I am super super ‘cited (as my friend Wendi says) because with the month of August comes the thrill of Fall arriving soon.

Don’t get me wrong, I like summer.  Summer’s abundance brings the most amazing fruits and vegetables, and there’s nothing like pulling a carrot right right out of the ground, rinsing it off with the garden hose, and eating it with the greens still on top.  The taste of a “real” carrot is absolutely amazing.  Those filed down baby carrots in the bag cannot hold a candle to the real thing.  Baby carrots are convenient, but I prefer cutting my own simply for the taste.

I recall one summer years ago, my  mother and I went to this super gourmet grocery store across the street from where I lived at the time.  The places was all hard wood floors and spot lighting and the most amazing local produce.  Mother and I were perusing the fruit, when a local farmer walked in thru the front door with baskets and baskets of just picked blackberries.  These things were absolutely gigantic and the nice man offered my mother a berry, it was still warm from the sun.  I remember watching her eyes rolling to the back of her head in bliss (I mean, mothers do that?) as blackberry  juice ran down her chin.  She took home four pints of berries that day.

Falls brings its own wonderful gifts.  Root vegetables, chillier nights, the warmth of homemade soup and bread coming from the kitchen, sweaters, hot tea, the soothing smell of wood burning stoves  as I drive home from work at night.

Can’t wait for Fall, now.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

