The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

My Posture Sucks.

on May 20, 2012
Bad posture

Bad posture (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m a huncher. No matter how much I try to keep my back pressed up against the , back of my chair, I eventually find myself practically laying on my computer keyboard with my nose pressed against my monitor.  Even worse, it’s totally an unconscious thing.  I have no idea I am leaning forward until I stop and completely redirect my mind to what my body is doing.

Earlier today, I was typing a Google search entry and I realized I was nearly laying the upper part of my body on the desk.  Horrified at myself, I straightened up and heard a cracking sound in my neck as I did so.  No pain, but it’s not a sound you want coming from any part of your body.

So, like any savvy blogger, I hit the web to see what I could find on ergonomics and improving my posture, not only for sitting but for standing and walking as well.  From what I can tell so far, I am so out of alignment my knuckles might as well be dragging on the floor.  The amount of information I found was staggering and inconsistent: sit up straight, do NOT sit up straight, walk carrying weights (also known as the Farmers Walk), do not carry anything heavy.  Sit with your feet beneath your hips, pretend there’s a string attached to your head from the ceiling, do a body check every five minutes to see where you are in your posture.  Use wrist rests when typing.  Don’t forget all of the products that you can purchase to help you with your, including someone to massage you if you’re stiff.

First of all, the massage sounds good.  My shoulders bear the weight of all my stress and they are hard as rocks, to the point where I don’t like them being touched, even a simple tap can hurt.  I’ve been massaged before, and it’s not a big thrill for me because I have a difficult time with being touched.  Same reason why I’ve never had a pedicure.  The thought of someone touching my feet frankly freaks me out but that’s a post for another day.

Anyway…I came across a website about sucking in your gut, and how it’s actually beneficial.  It doesn’t solve all problems, but it helps strengthen lower back muscles as well as your core.  The best website I found for information was here.  Yes, it’s a blog about the raw food diet, which is not a turn off for me, I have actually found quite a bit of useful information.

So first things first, I am going to work on strengthening my core.  Then maybe my lower back won’t ache when I walk or sometimes, even stand.  Sadly, I am parked in front of a computer over 40 hours a week at my jobby-job, and I have got to do something before I turn into a mushroom.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

