The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Tisanes: health in a mug

on July 26, 2010

For the longest time I was on the search for THE shade of lipstick that was going to save my life.  I looked high and low and spend tons of money on that one color that was going to make me absolutely fabulous.

As you can imagine, that didn’t happen.  20 years later my search has finally ended (but that’s another story) but I did find something else that really saved my life.  Well, my gut, really.

Tea.  Or to be exact, tisanes.  According to Dictonary.com, a tisane is an “aromatic or herb flavored tea”.  I know a tisane to be a tea without actual tea.

We’re talking flowers, herb and weeds here, people.  You brew it up like tea and the benefits from all of the goodies inside are simply staggering.

I came across tisanes purely by accident a couple of years ago.  I was performing a Google search (for what in particular, now I don’t remember) and came across a rather lovely website, http://www.owensacres.com.  I was impressed by her organic certifications and the fact that all of her products were handmade.

Some background:  I have always been a tea drinker.  Being lactose intolerant growing up and having a mother who was the Worlds Greatest Hippy in California, I was drinking soy baby formula (all that was available at that time?) and herbal tea.

I ordered some of her soaps (wow) and lotions (double wow) and healing salves (where has she been all my life) then I started ordering some of her tisanes.  Wow wow wow.

I knew nothing about the medicinal properties of flowers and herbs.  After doing some research, I found that Calendula helps with gastrointestinal disorders.  Lemon balm is a natural anti spasmodic.  Lavender helps with an upset stomach.  Hibiscus is an all around life saver, as it helps with blood pressure, is good for lowering bad cholesterol, and is full of vitamin C.  (www.teabenefits.com)

Not only are her teas healthful, they are totally delicious.  Her Sun Tea Herbs are now a staple of mine, hot AND iced.  It contains a lovely blend of  Lemon Balm, Lemon Verbena, Assorted Mints, Stevia (the real fresh cut leaf, not the powdered processed stuff) Calendula, Lavender, Catnip, Rose Petals and Hibiscus.  Brewed up hot, its a beautiful deep pink color and is so soothing after a difficult day, I have a huge cup of it right before bed.  I drank it hot before I realized hey, its not so bad iced as well!

Pair a nice cup of tea along with her Sweet Dreams Salve rubbed at your temples and I hope you find a blissful rest such as I do.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

