The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Vitamins, Movement, and Tea of the Moment

on July 28, 2010

I discovered one of the first things I could do to feel better was to take a multi-vitamin that made a difference.  I’m not talking about walking into your standard drugstore and picking up some “average” OTC vitamin, I mean a vitamin that makes you feel good.

I searched, of course, and my search didn’t take long.  I came across Natures Way (http://www.naturesway.com/Products/Vitamins/15092-Alive-Multi-Vitamin-No-Iron-Added.aspx) Whole Food Energizer Multi Vitamin.  This product has been amazing because it contains Amino acids, a Garden Veggies blend, an Orchard fruit Blend, a mushroom blend, a blend of digestive enzymes, omega fatty acids, citrus bioflavanoids and a Green Food/Spirulina Blend.  This product is good for someone who wakes up on morning and simply realized they are freaking tired of being tired, yet have no idea where to start with doing something healthy for their body.

This was my concern.  I read articles upon articles about what to do to jump start your health but everything I came across was meant for women who were under 200 lbs.  Hello!  Hefty heffer here,  can I do yoga?  Do I dare?  What about my emotional state…do I want to sweat like a horse in a room of people?  Do I want to waddle down the street with my iPod turned up so loud I can’t hear myself panting like an ox in heat?

Folk, as you can see, there are things we all need to get over.    We need to move, breathe, eat and function and be emotionally all right at the same time.  If I feel like a bloated cow how the hell is that going to motivate me to do anything?

I discovered its one little thing at a time.  I drink my tea, which makes me feel good (tonight I am having a lovely cup of Summer Sunset Tea from Owens Acres.  It contains Hibiscus, Lemon Balm and Rose Petals) I take my Alive Vitamins (these are horse pills, don’t get me wrong, sometimes they are HARD to swallow, but I think they now come in capsules and I know they come in liquid) and I stopped with the fast food.

Exercise?  I am a BIG BIG girl and I stretch for now.  Simple stretches, to get my blood flowing to my muscles.  Next month I am going to my first yoga class (I need the money and the nerve, which is why I am waiting) but right now the simple stretches make me feel really, really good.

Check these out:

http://www.ideafit.com/fitness-library/yoga-for-obese

My initial goal?  To be able to tie my left shoe lace without heaving myself  into some freakish position to do so.

A NOTE ABOUT THE TEA:  I like my tea sweet, so with the Summer Sunset a touch of honey or even Agave Nectar brings out the tang of the hibiscus.  I also let it steep for a long time.  The color is a deep, deep magenta and the taste is divine.  Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

