The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Online Shopping for Vitamins and Sickness

on March 18, 2011
Some rose hips in close-up

Image via Wikipedia

When it comes to ordering things online, I haven’t an ounce of shame.  As long as the shipping is non existent or decent, I will order what I can online.  Cosmetics, bath and body care, you name it.

One of my regular places to shop is http://www.vitacost.com because they have pretty much everything I am looking for

So yesterday I ordered my vitamins from Vitacost.com, as well as extra Vitamin C with Rose Hips as well as Echinacea.  Now, I checked online at Walmart and Rite-Aid and Walgreens (all of which are here in town) to see how much it would cost if I just went into the store and bought them.

My Alive Whole Food Vitamins are between $45-$55 for the exact same amount of pills.  VitaCost (where I’ve always ordered them) is $22

I found Vitamin C with Rose hips, for $11, and its only 100 pills.  I got 500mg, 250 ct bottle of Vit C with Rose Hips for $5.79

Echinacea?  50 ct bottle for 9 bucks.  I got a 1200mg, 180 ct bottle for  $6.95.  Both are the NSI brand, which I have found to be a good brand for herbs and vitamins.

Oh, and not only were the vitamins a good price, there was also free shipping.

Now I know of all the press Echinacea has been getting recently, that it doesn’t work, but for me it works, which is why I am stocking up on it and Vitamin C.  My workplace is a hotbed of disease:  one person that I know of has walking pneumonia, and several others have bronchitis.  The last thing I want is to catch any of this, so I am doing what I can to boost my immune system so I don’t (oh, and I am also taking a probiotic as well) end up with the same illnesses.  I had an upper-respiratory thing a few weeks ago and after spending two days drinking nothing but hot, organic Ceylon tea, I wasn’t sniffling anymore, so of course I am still drinking tea (I read hibiscus helps as well) and disinfecting everything in sight.

I will have the Four Thieves blend in my hot little hands in a few days to use as a germ killer, anyone have success using this?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

