The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

A Few Things I’ve Realized

on April 7, 2011
Lipstick

Image via Wikipedia

1.  Pea Pods and Carrots in a Taco Salad are pretty tasty, as well as a hefty helping of Black Bean and Corn Salsa with fresh Cilantro.  I actually had ground beef in my salad (I usually stick with beans) but the meat was equal parts of meat and pulverized spinach and carrots.  Pretty yums.

2.  The more I take care of my skin with decent facial products the less need I have for foundation.  Once I quit the chemical-laden cosmetic line I had been using for two years, healed and cleared my skin from said products, and found out what actually works for my skin due to trial and error, I have no desire to cover my skin up for the first time in my life.  Mind you, my skin isn’t perfect by any means, but I don’t have glaring issues as well.   My skin is soft and glowing all on its own, and this is from a 40 year old who SWORE she had horribly oily skin, so everything I was using was to eliminate that oil.  I had no idea I was starving my skin.  Now I know better.  I alternate between Olive Oil Soap and Oil to clean my face, tone with an alcohol free Rose Petal and Elderflower Blossom Tonerand I moisturize with different products, from Coconut Oil, Argan Oil beneath my eyes, to Owen’s Acres Ultimate Beauty Salve. the last time my skin looked this good,I was spending an absolute fortune on a department store skin care line.

 

I still love lipstick and eyeshadow, though.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response to “A Few Things I’ve Realized

  1. Laura Owens says:

    Taco Salad sounds yummy! I use to be addicted to Maybelline lipstick and even had it shipped to me when I lived overseas! Until I found out what’s in it and how much we ‘eat’ every year! Now I just use lip balm that I make myself!

Leave a Reply

