The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

A New Place to Get Together

on May 11, 2011
freshly cut lavender flowers

Image via Wikipedia

I am over at the Healthy Beauty Social chatting with others regarding natural bath and beauty items and having a blast.  There are quite a few experts over there, some who are makeup artists, some who own their own lines of organic cosmetics, and I have never come across the nicest group of people who love what they create and share with the rest of us.  The parent company of the blog, The Healthy Beauty Project has so much beneficial information regarding healthy beauty and the benefits behind using natural cosmetics.  There’s so much I didn’t know, but then again I am no expert, I am just passionate about all of us being healthier.

One thing I have noticed once I quit using over the counter cosmetics:  I feel better.  Maybe its my mind, maybe its my body no longer being hampered with the toxins constantly running through it.  My skin is no longer my enemy, that’s for sure, and I no longer spend my time trying to cover up what I don’t want the world to see.  The layers of products I used to use…thinking back I wonder how on earth was my skin breathing from all the gunk I was putting on it?  How was my scalp healthy from all the chemicals I was using on my hair?

My body is the same way…I feel better with less garbage running through it.  Sure, there are toxins we cannot avoid, but we don’t have to add to them.  The Healthy Beauty Social is a haven for me to talk about my experiences with products with like minded people who are putting less chemicals into and onto their bodies.

The cosmetic industry, in my opinion, makes its money because we women buy into the notions that the aging process is bad for us, among other things.  I’ve been allowing my natural beauty to come through:  instead of clogging my skin up with chemicals, using natural products has healed my skin so I no longer feel the need to have to hide behind layers of foundations and primers and the like.

Aging is a natural process.  There’s no way to avoid it, and I choose to embrace my 40’s instead of pushing them away.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response to “A New Place to Get Together

  1. Todra Payne says:

    Thanks for the write up! I so appreciate it. And I’m incredibly happy that you enjoy hanging out at Healthy Beauty Social. I’m glad you’re a part.

Leave a Reply

