The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Something about me…

on May 26, 2011
Glass vial containing Geranium Essential Oil

Image via Wikipedia

I could sit here and blog about all the issues I have with myself, mental and physical, but it wouldn’t solve anything.  I started this blog because I decided I wasn’t going to age as a complete hot mess, I was going to be 40 and awesome.  I was going to do this by admitting I needed to change some things.

One thing I changed was my sleep.  I knew I wasn’t getting enough rest, I snored something awful, and I was tired all the time.  I finally told my doctor (actually I have a nurse practitioner) who sent me over to the sleep clinic for a sleep study.  Actually, it was a trip over to Pulmonology first.  I answered all of their questions, and they determined that I could so an at-home sleep study instead of having to go to the hotel they use.  Apparently at the hotel they wire you up with everything, but since I never had an issue of acting out my dreams or sleepwalking, I “qualified” for the at home.

So I did the study, and got the results back a few days later.  I was told that a “severe” case of obstructive sleep apnea was 30 episodes a night of not breathing, or choking because my airway became obstructed.

In the 5.5 hours I was sound asleep and was monitored, I hit 680 times.  Well, if I am going to do something, might as well do it well, right?

So right now I am waiting to get my CPAP.  Even with my insurance my cost will be around $300, which is a bit rich for my blood but I don’t have a choice.  In spite of the cost, I know I am going to feel so much better once I get a decent night sleep.  Part of my issues is that I am so tired all the time.  I have a feeling once I get adequate rest, other health improvements will fall in line.

Even better?  I found I could use aromatherapy with my CPAP.  How awesome is that?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

