The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

What I Ask From Beauty Products

on August 14, 2011
yellow hat flower

Yellow Hat Flower

I don’t know if I am the only one who feels this way, so I am going to throw this out there.

When it comes to beauty products, I ask one thing of them. To make me feel pretty on the inside.

Looking good doesn’t really pertain to what I am talking about. We can be done up with all sorts of product, but are we pretty? On the outside sure, but what about the inside? Is that perfume you are wearing uplifting you, or does it matter only what others think? That lipstick, sure its a stunning color but does it warm you from the inside?

I am talking about putting a product on and feeling good about wearing it. Colors, aromas, textures, purpose…all these things can make us feel good and that is what I am looking for in a product. I want to put on a scent and be uplifted. I want an eye color to make me feel pretty. I want a foundation to give me confidence.

In other words, its more important to me to feel pretty on the inside more so than on the outside.   Agape & Zoe Naturals are a prime example.  Their fragrance, Green, is listed as “a refreshing combination of cucumber and mandarin, with a hint of mint”.  I absolutely LOVE the smell, its refreshing and clean and unique.  My best friend turns her nose up at it, but that’s just fine, because for me its uplifting and wonderful and clean and puts a sparkle in my eye.

Another example is Owens Acres Lavender Lotion Bar.  My friend doesn’t like it because its heavy and she’s not a fan of lavender, but I put it on and my skin is softened and the smell is fresh lavender.  Its soothing like a warm blanket, or a hot cup of tea, no matter where I am.

As well, I received a sample of Eve Organics Limelight Eyeshadow.  Never would I have thought this color would be my color, but I wear it and I get a smile on my face.  A BIG smile.  This eyeshadow makes me feel goofy and happy.  Don’t ask me why.  It just does.  Its the most perfect green, and I mean perfect.  Check out the picture on the link and notice the awesome gold flecks in all that green.  Its AWESOME!

Perchance I am asking too much from the products I use?  I don’t think so.  I am blessed to use clean, wonderful products that delight as well as beautify.  With life being, well, life, when was the last time you were delighted by anything or anyone?

We gotta find the happiness.  Its out there.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

