The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

You never know…

on August 18, 2011
Act of Consecration to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

…whom your friends are going to be.

Tomorrow Natural Beauty Vixen and I are meeting up for the second time since meeting on line several months ago.  Turns out we live rather close to one another, and I was shocked to find out she lived really close to my parents.  We got a long great over at the Healthy Beauty Social, where we met, come to find out we get along in person as well.

You never know who your friends are going to be.  I admit, I have an issue with trust and revealing too much about myself to anyone.  I have friends but very few know who I am, if you know what I mean.  I’ve built up towering walls around myself during my 30’s and did everything to protect my self proclaimed fortress.  I still have a hard time letting people “in”, but lately I have realized that’s its not as difficult as it used to be.

I realized there’s a world outside of my fortress, and there are people out there with similar likes, dislikes and issues.  Have I grown older and wiser?  I don’t think so, I am very stubborn and don’t like change, but I’ve taken several steps a direction I had yet to take before.  I’ve always believed in community, but I just realized a community is not one person.  I like to think I’m that cool, but really?  Not so much.

So many things take a group effort.  My home life is a group effort, my job runs more smoothly when there’s a group effort.  The weight of the world does not have to be on just one set of shoulders.

Sadly we all have our hangups:  putting people in boxes, perceptions, stereotypes…heck I can stereotype with the best of them.  First impressions, to me, can sum up a person in a second, and I take that information and run with it until I am out of breath.  I did exactly that a while ago, just recently I realized how wrong I was.  Wrong with a capital “W”.

I am grateful that I am still capable of learning.  There’s hope for me yet.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “You never know…

  1. Todra Payne says:

    This is so cool. I’m happy you two are building an off-line friendship, too. It is hard to put yourself out there and meet new people, even just as friends. People tend to think it’s complicated if it’s a love interest, but you still stand the chance of being hurt or disappointed by friends. It takes a leap of faith. I’m so glad you both took the leap.

Leave a Reply

