The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Andalou Naturals: Citrus Verbena Shower Gel and Body Lotion

on September 29, 2011

Andalou Natruals Citrus Verbena Shower Gel

Sometimes we fellow beauty bloggers exchange requests from beauty companies to do reviews on their products.  Makes sense, right?  I mean,  why would a beauty blogger with normal skin do a review for anti acne products, or in turn, why would a blogger with freaky, hyper-reactive skin do a review on products for oily skin?

As a blogger, you have to choose your product reviews carefully, because you don’t want to try a product that reacts poorly with your skin.  As well, as natural beauty bloggers we are careful to review products that are considered healthy to use.  Personally, I’ve been playing it real safe and have reviewed products that 1.  work on me and 2. have an ingredient list I understand.  Technically, I know how my skin is, and when I try a product that doesn’t make my skin morph into shoe leather or even worse, the oozy, broken out skin I have been used to, I get a bit excited.

All this being said, I was put in contact with Andalou Naturals to do a review on two of their products (they let me chose, which was super nice of them) and after scouring their website (which is a nice website, easy to get around, has tons of information and is very easy to read) I picked two products and waited for them to come in the mail.

Andalou Citrus Verbena Body Lotion

I am now the proud owner of their Citrus Verbena Body Wash and matching Lotion.  I used the lotion first (having already been in and out of the shower) and immediately fell in love with the smell, texture and performance.

Citrus Verbena Body Lotion:

1.  Square green pump bottle with a very attractive label.  Comes in a generous 11 oz size.

2.  The first ingredient is Aloe, which is impressive to me.  In my mind, lotions with the first ingredient of water makes me doubtful because hello, water!  I look for some sort of fruit or plant oil, something I know that is going to do more than cover up my dry skin.

3.  My skin (which is dry and flaky and like a dusty chalkboard) soaks this stuff up and it leaves  behind softness, no grease, weird residue, or anything shimmery.  It moisturizes like you wouldn’t believe, goes on like a dream (must be the Sunflower oil, which I love) and leaves you feeling clean, not like you just smothered yourself in lotion.  I think we all know that feeling? Your clothes stick to you?  Not with this.

4.  The citrus verbena smell is very natural, there’s nothing perfumy about this.  Its crisp, refreshing and just smells good.  I am a very frequent hand washer, and I use it over and over again over the course of the day on my hands, but once I put it on my horribly dried out legs I don’t have to reapply.

5. The website had tons of information regarding the Advanced Fruit Stem Cell Science this company is all about.  Their ingredients are very impressive, are clear on the website and on the bottle, but the Fruit Stem Cell thing is greek to me.  The lotion contains Evening Primrose Oil, Apricot Oil, Shea Butter, Citrus Extracts (Lime and Lemon) as well as other healthy things.  They have a glossary of all of their ingredients on their web page.

 

Citrus Verbena Shower Gel

  1.  I love this stuff.  Smells good, rinses away well, foams up well and I don’t itch after washing.  My skin is soft afterwards, and not overly dry (I take hot showers so I can’t blame dry skin on products alone).  Comes in an identical green bottle like the lotion, but has a flip-top cap instead of a pump.  11 oz.
  2. The ingredients in the Shower Gel are nearly identical to those in the Body Lotion, save for a few I listed below.

All in all?  I like this product.  I like it a lot.  I love the shower gel more than the lotion because the citrus scent is very refreshing in the shower.  I would suggest heading to the website and reading all of the information they have to offer on their products.  I know my sister-blogger Melissa Whitman is trying the Andalou Naturals Omega Glow Facial  Concentrate.  She will be coming out with a review of that soon, so check her blog for that.

(Note:  This post has been edited for content by the blogger.)

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

