The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Detour!Fail and Stress

on October 12, 2011
Lewis and Clark Bridge

Lewis and Clark Bridge, Mt. St. Helens in the background.

There was a major accident in my county, which closed the highway (news report is here).  Eventually the detour was closed due to several accidents as well.  I could have made my way to work, but I had two options for a detour:  33 extra miles or 43 extra miles.  After driving in circles (took me that much to realize the detour was closed due to accidents) I nearly had a breakdown trying to figure out what to do and where to go.  The 33 extra mile detour (making my entire trip 73 miles) was literally over-the-river and through-the-woods on a two lane mountain road that would have eventually dropped me off at the foot of the Coast Range.  The other option (made by a co-worker) was to drive the opposite direction to Rainier, take the Lewis and Clark bridge into Longview, WA and head down I-5.  That would have been a grand total of 83 miles.

I am taking an impromptu vacation day, at the suggestion of my boss.

Its not that I didn’t try to get there…I actually was on the Scappoose-Vernonia Hwy and had driven about two miles when I saw the back-up of traffic.

I was never so happy to come home in my life.  Once I was headed in the direction of home the release of all that stress that had piled on me as I was counting down minutes and planning furiously how to get into town had left me absolutely exhausted.  Even though I left the house nearly three hours before I had to be at work,  there was no traveling East out of Columbia County in a timely manner.

I don’t know of the status of the victims of the original accident.  I really hope everyone is all right.  There I was, concerned about being late for work and some poor woman was laying in the center median in the middle of a four-lane highway after being thrown from her car.

And my problems are…?

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

