The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Some Great Information Regarding Headache Balms and Why Peppermint Works for Headaches

on October 23, 2011
1887 illustration

Peppermint: Image via Wikipedia

My last post was about my own survival products which I pack with me everywhere.  Included in my list was Owens Acres Headache Balm.  To be honest, I swear by this stuff, for my headaches, pressure “issues” and the pain from the bone spurs in my neck, which also makes my head hurts.

One of my readers asked about the Headache Balm and how  it works, and dear Laura from Owens Acres popped in and answered, better than I ever could have:

Hi, Laura Owens from Owens Acres. The Headache Balm works just like a lotion, it it absorbed into the skin and the peppermint relieves the pulsing and pounding when applied directly. Secondly anything you put on your skin is absorbed into the blood stream – hence why you want natural or organic products. Peppermint relaxes blood vessels and airways and has a natural cooling affect.

Want to test this theory? Rub a drop of Peppermint Essential oil on the top of your foot. In a couple of minutes you will taste it in your mouth!

Peppermint inhaled will also help a headache or nausea/vomiting.

Hope the info is helpful!

Thank you so much, Laura!  I did the Peppermint Essential Oil test on the top of my foot, and she was right, I tasted it in my mouth not too soon after.

I just ordered another tube of Headache Balm from her, I really hope eventually she makes it in a bigger tube, I can’t live without it. Well, my head and sinuses can’t live without it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 responses to “Some Great Information Regarding Headache Balms and Why Peppermint Works for Headaches

  1. I’ve never gotten frequent headaches, but when I get one, its got to be a migraine. This is awesome advice and I can’t wait to try it.

    • It works for me. My headaches are either stress and/or sinus related. Then again, when the bone spurs in my neck start acting up, that makes my head hurt as well. The Headache Balm on the back of my neck really helps with that deep, sickening pain I get.

  2. Mary says:

    I love using peppermint soap in the shower for that cooling effect, even in the winter. It’s so refreshing and it really does lift your mood.

Leave a Reply

