The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

EPIC FAIL: Breakfast

on March 4, 2012
English: american breakfast

Image via Wikipedia

Eating breakfast has never been a popular thing for me.  Yes, I know it’s good for me, I’ve read all of the benefits of eating breakfast and the bad things when you don’t.  Heck, even my Nurse Practitioner tells me I should eat breakfast.  Might as well admit it, every doctor I have had has been trying to get me to eat breakfast.

When I was in my 20’s I worked in demanding jobs and I would either not eat or grab something so I could continue moving.  Back then I could handle it (or so I thought) but then I was told I wasn’t getting enough nutrients and my body was in a constant starvation mode, so whatever I ate my body kept because it never knew when it was getting more fuel again.  Did I learn? No, not yet, not 20 years later.  Now, if I don’t eat I start feeling really ill, but I can still push myself to not eat until the afternoon.

Granted, in real life I work swing shift at my jobby-job, so I don’t start work until 230 in the afternoon three days out of the week.  I am generally out of bed around 10 or so, plenty of time to hop online and whatnot before I have to get ready for work.  Even with a couple of hours at my disposal I still don’t eat.

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

Image via Wikipedia

Why?

The thought of anything other than coffee first thing out of bed makes me nauseous.  Sadly, I can consume coffee like no tomorrow, until my stomach starts to complain and I start getting that ill feeling from not eating.  Two weeks ago, I completely overdosed on caffeine, so I started drinking half decaf.  Then a week ago I started off my week telling myself that I would make a real effort to eat breakfast, instead of starving myself until 4 in the afternoon when I took my first break at work and could run to Starbucks for a bagel with cream cheese.

I didn’t go nuts on the breakfast.  I did oatmeal with raisins, which I do love.  I ate it.  I wasn’t thrilled, but I ate it.  I didn’t feel great while I was eating it but it did make a difference as the day went on.  After the first day, I figured I could get used to eating in the mornings.  So I had more oatmeal with raisins the second day.  It was easier getting down than the first day, and I did feel decent as the day went on, again.

Alas, that was it.  I lasted two days.  I didn’t eat breakfast for the rest of the week.  EPIC FAIL.  I will try again Monday.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

