The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

I Turned Down a Product Review and Mango Butter is Awesome

on March 24, 2012

Rose Geranium, image from Wikipedia

I got an email this morning, asking me to do a product review on a 100% natural skin care boutique.  According to the email I could pick one of the many products offered, full-sized, and all I needed to do was do a product review of whatever I chose, with a link back to the site. I checked out the offerings on the website, and to be honest, I wasn’t really impressed.  There were several brands available, but really high-end brands.  I mean, we’re talking costly.

I surfed the website for a bit and decided no, no review.  I sent an email back thanking them for considering me, but I was sure they could find another blogger in the natural blogging sphere who could better suit their request.

I couldn’t justify reviewing, thus recommending, a product that I wouldn’t purchase on my own.  I scoured the entire website and found nothing that I really wanted to try.  There was one brand that I will not use, and the others, well…$36.95 for an exfoliator?  No.  If I don’t pay for it myself, how can I recommend it to others?  One of the last things I am going to buy is a 1.69 ounce jar of an exfoliant for nearly $40.

So I passed.

Now on to something more affordable:  The All Natural Face makes does Body Butters.  I purchased one a while ago, and picked the Rose Geranium scent (there are two fragrance “lines”, one made with fragrance oils and the other line made with Essential Oils) grateful it was an option because Rose Geranium has tons of benefits, check out The Mountain Rose listing here.  Now, not only is the Rose Geranium a benefit, but I found out tonight that there’s more.

There are four ingredients in their Body Butters:  Organic Mango Butter, Organic Vegan Coconut Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, and the Rose Geranium Essential Oil.  I never really knew what Mango Butter was or did.  I have plenty of products that contain Mango Butter, and I know its good for my skin, but I never really looked into it.

Mountain Rose Herbs has a whole listing of the properties and the goodness of Mango Butter here.  I had no idea of the array of benefits of Mango Butter, which makes me love the Body Butter from The All Natural Face even more.

Oh, and the 2 ounce jar I purchased?  It was $6.50.  Also comes in a 4 ounce jar for $12.

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 responses to “I Turned Down a Product Review and Mango Butter is Awesome

  1. First of all, congratulations that companies are coming to you asking for reviews! That is fantastic. I’m so impressed you based your decision on looking at the whole picture and not just the one individual product! I am sure you know you are rare in this industry – most people would take the free product and just give the review! You won me as a fan for sure!

    I do the same and was looking forward to finding another natural cosmetics company after reading the ingredients in the product you reviewed! I looked at “The All Natural Face” and sadly, was pretty disappointed.

    “Your body absorbs 65% of the chemicals you apply to it. Those chemicals go directly into your bloodstream.”

    This is a a totally made up statistic, not based on anything but repeated by sites that have not done their research into cosmetic ingredients. Then to make matters worse, saying the chemicals that do get absorbed go directly into your bloodstream? We’d be dead if they did! Drug companies spend billions of dollars trying to come up with methods to get ingredients to penetrate the skin barrier and reach the actual blood stream. Most don’t by molecular size alone! And those that do penetrate at all, few actually reach the blood stream. And why does that even matter? Our skin IS our body. Here is a great site with a bit more scientific information about the issue: http://bubbleandbee.blogspot.com/2011/07/does-skin-absorption-matter.html

    “We do not use any artificial ingredients.”

    Dihydroxyacetone? Erythrulose; olivem 800; DHA; Cosmocial CQ; potassium sorbate – none of these ingredients are natural – and I only looked at one product!

    ALL of these ingredients are artificial/synthetic – natural does not just refer to the original source material, but refers to the processing method(s) used to obtain the final chemical(s)/ingredient.

  2. Dana says:

    I think you were quite right to say no. I wouldn’t review anything that I wouldn’t actually buy either. There are a couple of items that are slightly on the more expensive side that I would consider buying if I know it’s going to last 6-12 months and I can get plenty use out of. Otherwise, nope! The butters sound lovely, I love mango, sounds good enough to eat 🙂 I’ve seen some fantastic products on Mountain Rose Herbs, do you know if they ship to the UK? If they do & shipping isn’t too costly I’d definitely consider buying 🙂

  3. sesame says:

    It’s a good call! I personally will only review products I want to use, not because I’ve been asked to. In fact, sometimes I like a brand but when I look at the ingredients, I know I won’t use them and so I decline because it’s also not fair for the company.

    • Thanks Sesame! I just can’t bring myself to rec a product that I wouldn’t buy or even worse, didn’t buy. To me, the review means more if someone actually spent their own hard earned money on a product. Call me weird…

Leave a Reply

