The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Cuppow: This Thing is Awesome. Oh, and I now have a Smart Phone.

on April 15, 2012

My Cuppow At Work Action Shot

I cannot for the life of me remember where I came across Cuppow.  I know once I found it I posted it all over my personal Facebook page because really, how ingenious!  My friends saw my posts and commented how cool it looked, but no one had purchased one yet.

I so planned on buying one, but you, dear readers, know things come up.  I wanted it, but I had more pressing things to worry about, like taxes, getting the oil changed in my car, putting gas in my car, the dryer ate my last bra, those things.  So the Cuppow was put on my list of “wants” and I figured I would drool over the pictures until I was able to get one.

Then a friend of mine sent a message to me over Facebook saying he ordered presents and they should be here in about a week.  I scratched my head at that, thinking what on earth, he must have meant someone else.  So I never replied.  He never followed up, so I forgot about it.  Until I got a text on my phone asking if I was home, presents had come in the mail, could he come over?  Um, sure, I texted back, and not a minute later he was at my front door with a Cuppow.

I think his back is still bothering him from when I threw my arms around him.  Ooops.

I mean, how sweet and amazing for him to get me one, right?  The only thing, we are both totally lame, because neither of us had a wide-mouth Mason jar to use it with!  A day later we had that solved, but really?  No wide mouth jars?  He had none, and I had a ton of narrow mouth jars.  I found a box of wide mouth lids with bands, but no jars.  Yeah, all I can do is shake my head.

So!  Cuppow!  These things are super, super cool.  This hard, BPA free plastic lids turn your Mason jar into a leak-proof drinking vessel.  The Cuppow sits right on top of your wide mouth jar, you screw the band on and there you go, the coolest coffee cup ever.   Canning jars are the best really, because they are clean, they don’t stain, absorb flavors, you can wash them, boil them, whatever.  You can have a cup of coffee, then rinse it out and have a cup of tea without any residual flavors from the coffee.  There’s no BPA or chemical worries with a canning jar.

In the summer time I use a quart jar for iced tea at work, with tons of ice, a straw, lemon and fresh mint. A quart jar is big enough to last between breaks, and if I need to I can slap the lid and band back on it.  They really are handy, and the Cuppow makes them handier.

(Shameless Starbucks Plug:  The pint jars are perfect for Via.  Just sayin’)

The only downside is the glass gets hot if you’re drinking hot beverages, but a quick Etsy search will come up with plenty of options for cozies for your jars. With or without handles.  Oh, and for those of you, like me, who have tons of narrow mouthed jars, I was informed the Cuppow people are going to come out with narrow-mouthed lids before the summer.  NICE!

On another topic, we finally got our phones upgraded, so I now have a Smart Phone.  A Samsung Exhibit II4G for Android.  I have been totally geeking out ever since I got the silly thing.  WordPress has an app, so of course I downloaded it, as well as some other cool writing apps.  Even Etsy for Android is just amazing.  I use Dolphin as a browser and don’t worry, the geek simply wipes off.  🙂

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 responses to “Cuppow: This Thing is Awesome. Oh, and I now have a Smart Phone.

  1. so hot drinks are okay in the cuppow?

    um… what’s dolphin?

  2. Dana says:

    This sounds totally fantastic! I’m always looking at sustainable household items. I tend to use mugs in the house (mainly due to the fact people keep buying them as presents, not because I actually want them in my cupboard). However, I do have one of those ‘I’m not a plastic cup’ type cups, if you know what I mean and I like to use them when I’m out. I think this is a great idea, only problem is that I don’t have any wide jars either, so will keep an eye for when they come out with the narrower ones! Is it weird that I’m also quite excited over the fact I could actually make a jar cozie?! 😀

    • I would LOVE to make a jar cosie! I know how to knt, but I only know how to make things in a straight line, like scarves. 🙂 This Cuppow is just awesome, it really is! We’ve got tons of mason jars around from canning, and the Cuppow lid just makes using a mason jar that much easier! I use mugs in the house as well, but my Cuppow is totally awesome for work. Right now I only have a pint sized jar, which is great for coffee, but I definitely will be getting a quart one for iced tea.

  3. Natural Beauty Vixen says:

    I’m coming back to Facebook…I miss your wit…it makes me smile!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

