The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

Paperless Writing

on April 29, 2012
GoogleDocs

GoogleDocs (Photo credit: Wikipedia) This is what a document looks like in Google Docs, now Google Drive.

I’ve been writing since I was 10 years old.  In other words, pretty much for as long as I can remember.  I don’t know which came first, though:  my love for office supplies or writing.  Could be my writing came from my almost fetish-like adoration of writing supplies, which lead to my full on fetish-like adoration of bags.

I’ve always had to carry a bag, tote or backpack that could also handle my writing supplies.  Pens and a notebook or two, the normal 8.5×11 size (I’ve tried the smaller uber cute notebooks but the smaller paper doesn’t get me anywhere, literally) of notebook, so I needed a purse to fit those items, as well as the rest of the stuff I carry.  I would alternate between backpacks, messenger bags, tote bags, over-sized purses…anything to carry my writing implements.  For over 30 years I have done this and yes, I have quite the collection of handbags and writing supplies, but not anymore.

These days, I no longer need to drag around writing supplies, now that I have my Android phone.  After checking out quite a few Android Apps for writing, and after doing a lot of research, I finally figured out a writing system that worked for me:  Google Drive.

This wasn’t planned.  I started out with Google Docs, then two days after I got that into my phone Docs turned to Drive.  In simplistic terms, I can write in the Doc file on my phone, and when I get home to my desktop I can make changes or do more writing on the same documents using Drive as well.

To me this is super super cool.  I didn’t want to pay any money for a decent word processor for my phone because that just sounds…well, weird to me.  Drive as a free app, which also works with my desktop, is pretty stellar because I can whip out my phone and squeeze a line or two in during work without having to drag out pen and paper, and once I get home I can continue on in the same document.

I like it.  I like it a lot.  Oh, and did I say it was free?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

