The Holistic Chick Online

Heathy and Holistic Inside and Out…Don't Drink Coffee While Riding an Elliptical.

I’ve Been Nominated for a Leibster Award?

on August 12, 2012

First and foremost, a shout out to the beautiful Lovely Organic for nominating me for a Liebster Award.  This blog post is about the award, not the blogger who nominated me.  Lovely Organic has a wonderful blog that’s chock full of information, go check it out.

So!  The Liebster Award.  I have never heard of such thing, so I am going to cut and paste what Lovely Organic wrote regarding what the award is about:

So, what is this Liebster Award you ask? I did a little digging around and I found that this award is typically given to bloggers who have less than 200 followers. Also, it appears the inspiration behind the name of the award is the German word Liebster, which means lovely, valued, beloved, etc. 

The rules are as follows.  Again, I am going to cut and paste:

1.Post 11 things about yourself.
2. Answer the 11 questions that the nominating blogger set for you.
3. Create 11 questions for the bloggers that you want to tag.
4. Choose 11 bloggers to nominate and link to them in your post. (No tagbacks.)
5. Go to their blogs and let them know.
6. Follow the Tagger and visit at least 3 of the tagged bloggers.

Holy Cow, that’s a lot of work.  Don’t get me wrong, the nomination is lovely, but the hoops that you have to jump through that are the “rules”?  I don’t even know 11 bloggers, and answering and creating 11 questions seems so redundant.  I have a blog simply because my ego tells me people want to read what I have to write.  My brain comes up with some odd stuff and I love writing so hey, I put the two together and here I am, out in the blog-o-sphere probably making a huge fool of myself.  That’s OK, though.

So really, I appreciate the nomination.  I really do.  Recognition is always a good thing, but I honestly cannot bring myself to create 11 questions, answer 11 questions, tag this and track back to that, and everything else that is required.  As well, I am not comfortable nominating my sister bloggers simply because it’s a requirement, and there really isn’t 11 things anyone needs to know about me.  So I once ate a Pop-Tart while walking across a bridge backwards on the fourth rainy Tuesday in May (not really, making a point).  Does it matter, really?

Bottom line, really:  when I opened my email and saw I was nominated, then saw what the requirements were, the first thing that entered my mind was “oh, I fulfilled one of the 11 requirements”.  To me, that’s not how I want my blog to be seen.  I don’t blog to become a statistic for some award that demands so much.

So whatever this Leibster Award is, shame on you for making bloggers jump through flaming hoops on nonsense in your circus ring of recognition.

 

 

2 responses to “I’ve Been Nominated for a Leibster Award?

  1. GlamGreenie says:

    Well, I’m glad that you took the time to look over the nomination. I nominated you because, as I stated earlier, I really love your blog. I think the Leibster Award is in place for fellow bloggers just to learn more about each other, as well as giving your readers an interesting read. If I have offended you, I do apologize. However, I found joy in working on those 11 questions and 11 answers. Through this, I shared some things with my readers that I may have otherwise not. If you do a quick Google search of the Leibster Award, you will find that it is quite popular. I have enjoyed reading a lot of the responses. I did not create this, I simply thought that I wanted to share your blog with my readers through this Award.
    -Lovely Organic

    • I wasn’t offended by your nomiation, and I hope I made that clear? What got me was all of the rules. Seems spammish to me. Regardless, my issue isn’t with the nomination, and I am sorry if my post came across tbat way.

Leave a Reply

